Become a Community Golf Coach

Community Golf Coach is a training program designed by the PGA of Canada in conjunction with the Coaching Association of Canada and Golf Canada to develop and educate individuals at the community sport level.

The PGA of Canada’s Community Golf Coach training workshop is designed for the individual who works with children or youth to introduce the basic skills of golf to them. The workshop will help prepare Coaches to run Future Links, driven by Acura programs by focusing on the following:

  • Expressing your coaching philosophy
  • Making decisions when you are faced with legal or ethical situations in your coaching environment
  • Understanding the basic rules and etiquette, safety and equipment of golf
  • Using modified games to enhance the child’s experience
  • Identifying your tasks as a Future Links, driven by Acura Leader
  • Teaching the basic skills of golf

What you can do with your training:

  • Lead games and activities in a way that is suitable for children
  • Deliver colour stages white and orange of the Future Links, driven by Acura Learn to Play program
  • Assist your local PGA of Canada professional to deliver stages blue and black of the Learn to Play Program
  • Become a Key volunteer for the Provincial Golf Association
  • Be recognized by your provincial Sport Association as a trained coach in the Coaching Association of Canada database

Community Golf Coach workshops are administered by your Provincial Golf Association and delivered by PGA of Canada Community Golf Coach Facilitators. For more information, please contact your Provincial Golf Association: 

Provincial Golf Association Contact Name Phone Number Email Address
Alberta Golf Association Jennifer Davison 403-236-4616 jennifer@albertagolf.org
British Columbia Golf Debbie Pyne 604-279-2580 debbie@britishcolumbiagolf.org
Golf Manitoba Garth Goodbrandson 204-925-5730 garth@golfmanitoba.mb.ca
Golf New Brunswick Bari Gourley   (506) 451-1349 bgourley@golfnb.ca
Newfoundland & Labrador Golf Association Greg Hillier 709-576-3415 ext. 350 golf@sportnl.ca
Nova Scotia Golf Association Andrew Noseworthy 902-468-8844 golfpronose@gmail.com 
Golf Association of Ontario Mallory Dayman 905-852-1101 
ext. 237
mdayman@gao.ca
P.E.I. Golf Association Sean Joyce 902-330-5476 peiga@peiga.ca
Golf Quebec Patrice Clement  514-252-3345 ext. 3848
pclement@golfquebec.org
Saskatchewan Golf Association Brian Lee  306-975-0850 blee@golfsaskatchewan.org